That is the way the cookie crumbles…

Last night I got my first opportunity to be court announcer at the “Big V Melbourne Tigers” final series.

I love microphones and I love being the centre of attention, but, it defiantly takes you a few minutes to settle into the scene. My first time jitters were not actually that bad. I only stuffed up one name when announcing the team and I almost forgot to introduce the home side coaches.

I was totally pumped for the game. I had my own little table in the corner of the stadium. I had a fresh new playlist on my macbook and I was ready for the “Youth League” and the “Championship Women” finals.

However, lucky I love surprises, lucky I love being under pressure and lucky I love a spanner in the works…

We are about to start the first game and the entire scoreboard is not working. The only option is for me to call the game, basically I was to be a talking scoreboard. The instructions from the referees were as follows, score check after every point earned, time check at every minute, except more regular in the last minute. I was not to worry about anything else, and there would be no music so the referees and score-bench could communicate with each other. And, one other thing… I had to sit on the score-bench.

Exciting stuff? Maybe

To tell you the truth I didn’t mind being the human scoreboard. I was forced to become comfortable with the situation pretty quick. The only thing, because the was no room for improvisation, I did get a little bored of the mundane calling the scores. However, the referees and the score-bench gave me a good pat on the back at the end of the game, you can’t ask for much more.

After the “Youth League” game there was a massive urgency to try and fix this scoreboard before commencement of the “Womens Championship” game. The Championship match could not be played under the conditions, no scoreboard was to mean a change of venue, a change of day and many annoyed players, coaches and spectators.

Running 20 minutes late to start the Championship game and it was official the game would be played at “Hume City” the following day at 1pm in the day… And, the Electrician had the nerve to ask us whether “We had unplugged the device and plugged it back in?”. Isn’t that the first thing you try?

But, that is the way the cookie crumbles in sport and I guess that is why I love it! You never know what is around the corner. I just hope I get another chance to spin some tunes and speak some nonsense at another basketball game.

Leave a Reply

