Seriously, go see the “Tomorrow when the war began” movie!

Long before Twilight & Harry Potter, there lived the “Tomorrow when the war began” series. The series began to circa in 1993, I remembered there were kids lined up around the block to get their hands on the next installment. Luckily, for me I was a late bloomer on the books and I was able to read them all one after another, it was only the 7th book that I had to wait for… and what a long wait that was.

Following the success of the “Tomorrow and the war began” series, John Marsden also wrote the “Ellie Chronicles” which I equally enjoyed. Although, because they came out so long after the 7th book, I had to read the whole series again to get the feel.

Being such a big fan of the books, its natural that I was feeling nervous about the release of the movie “Tomorrow when the war began”. So many times I have seen movies that have butchered the book for me, “The Girl with the Pearl Earring” and “The DaVinci Code” just to name a couple.

But, I think I knew in the first few minutes of the movie that it was going to be a good one, I mean because I would have cried if it was bad. I think the attention to detail is what made the movie so awesome, the intricate details in the book were displayed on screen. I watched in anticipation as my favourite characters that I loved for so many years came to life, even if they didn’t exactly look the way I imagined them.

The movie had me on the edge of my seat the whole time, I loved every minute of it. I just hope that more people love it so the other book installments will be made. I also hope that the movie inspires viewers to pick up the books and read them, you won’t be disappointed.

John Marsden revolutionised Australian, juvenile literature with the books and I think everyone should read them.

I can’t wait, and I hope for the next movie “The Dead of the NIght” gets released!

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the followers of freedomTiger, this blog is lucky number 100. I look forward to many more.

One comment on “Seriously, go see the “Tomorrow when the war began” movie!

Leave a Reply

