City Streets to Coldstream Hills

I spent last night and most of today in the city. Some weeks I can spend a couple of days in the city and I feel great about it. But other times I can feel claustrophobic, a lot like if I spent too many days in Venice.

Today was one of these times, I couldn’t wait to get out to the open spaces, green grass and my waggly tailed, smiley dog that greets me at the gate. Being in the country equips me with a certain calmness. It brings me back to my neutral, so I can review my steps, recharge and take on the world again.

That’s not to say that I don’t love visiting the city. The fact that I can walk across the road and be in my favourite shop, Borders. Or walk down the street and have a coffee, read a magazine or work on the macbook and feel like I am in a completely different time zone to the rest of the world. It’s impossible to say one is better than the other.

I just know that without being able to escape to the hills, my body and my mind would suffer immensely.

One comment on “City Streets to Coldstream Hills

Leave a Reply

