Recovery DAY 1: Monday

Despite getting close to 10 hours sleep on Sunday night, I still felt tired. My quadriceps were like massive blocks of lard. And, everytime I took a wee, I had to lower and push myself off the toilet seat.

The blisters… they are not like the ones I experienced in training. The Race Day blisters are red raw, have yellow junk surrounding them and are ultra sensitive.

For approximately 8km’s of the 21km’s on Sunday I had pins and needles in my left foot, and I felt like there was a stone under the ball of the foot. On Recovery Day 1, there was a considerable amount of tightness in the bottom of my foot… giving me the attractive limp, waddle walk.

Here is the tip. I totally forgot to put Paw Paw Ointment under my boobs and where all the straps are… I won’t forget that again. Sexy? Totally!

Surprisingly, the knee felt the best. I put this down to the tight muscles holding everything together so the knee can’t click when I walk (the usual happenings). Although, during that 10 hour sleep I was awaken by both my knees in excruciating pain.

The shoulder… for some reason it must have been holding all my energy when I was running. It felt as if someone had punched me really hard, and left me with a corkie, 2 or 3 times!

I spent the day, mostly watching television. I played my guitar, checked my emails and wrote a few sample articles for magazines. In the afternoon, I decided to clean my room. Normally I sit down on the floor and divide all the clothes into piles of where they are kept. However, there was no way I was going to be able to get up again if I sat down. So I cleaned my room standing up, it may have taken me twice as long, but heaps less pain.

I did get a great surprise when I was browsing the race day photos online. There were pictures of Humie and I holding hands over the finish line, in full sprint… I’ll have to get me one of them. My medal and my number are going “straight to the pool room!”

Looking forward to Recovery DAY 2: Tuesday

Monday, I was in bed by 9pm!

One comment on “Recovery DAY 1: Monday

  1. I look forward to seeing the photo of the finishing sprint.You catalogue of race injuries sounds painful but the news on the knee was encouraging. I liked the video and was impressed by you and your companions speed.
    Love Dad

Leave a Reply

