Are all athletes shallow?

It’s been 15 days since my last entry. Part of the reason being that I have been lacking a little inspiration and the other part is that I didn’t want to bore you with basketball entries. But, to tell you the truth at the moment, it seems I eat, sleep, exercise and talk basketball.

When it comes to the Melbourne Tigers and I guess when it comes to all teams in sport you can fall into the trap of looking at all the players as a whole and forget that there are 10 individual players on the roster.

What do I mean by this?

Over the last couple of weeks I have had the chance to hang out with a couple of the players away from the basketball court. Seven out of the contracted ten players are new to the Tigers, so there is a lot to get to know about everyone.

For all the sport fans out there, at times it is easier to look at the players with opposing uniforms on and think they are just the colours they wear, or their personality is directly reflected by the way they conduct themselves in press conferences.

Last week I spent some time hanging out with the NBL MVP of the 2009/10 season, Corey “Homicide” Williams. Sometimes I have the tendency to say exactly what is on my mind. I turn around to Corey and say “Until today I thought you were really shallow” he gives my a confused smile. I went onto explain that for the previous three years he has been wearing a Townsville uniform and I have only seen him in the spotlight.

But, here is a guy that grew up in The Bronx, New York City. He graduated high school, and then went onto play and study at two different colleges. He obtained a Degree in Criminal Justice and Administrative Business Diploma. His greatest achievement away from the basketball court is graduating college. After graduating he came back to the streets of NYC to play Street Ball. It was here that he picked up his nickname “Homicide” because he killed all his opponents on the court. Corey values his career, but most of all he values his family.

I have learnt that there has to be two sides to athletes, and anyone that spends a substantial amount of time in the spotlight. It’s a healthy balance, they have their private life away from the court and some are careful to keep those separate.

 

Leave a Reply

