10 out of 10 for the Australian Open

It has been a epic couple of weeks. I have been to the Australian Open three times, and you could say I have had my fair dose of tennis for a while. I was out of the country for the 2009 and 2010 Australian Open, so I guess I had some catching up to do.

I did see some great matches. In the first week we caught glimpses of Henin, Venus Williams and Andy Roddick. This past week I have seen Wozniacki twice, Kim Clijsters and Federer. I do wonder, with the exit of both Nadal and Federer, how the ratings and attendance numbers will be affected for the Men’s Finals on Sunday night.

I would like to tip my hat to the Australian Open for their impeccable hospitality. The food in the Australian Open Club was amazing, from beautiful, fresh salads to meat and fish dishes.

Although Melbourne did not experience the crazy heat of usual, the ice block design with dim lighting and cool blues in the Australian Club was still admired. The staff were nothing but accommodating and made the days all the more enjoyable.

I spent two days in the Australian Open Club and I attended one day with my family in the General Admission/Rod Laver area. The Open has created a great ambience at the new (since I have been there last) Heineken area, with two big screens, lounge chairs and picnic tables. There is plenty to keep you entertained between matches with all the sponsor tents, you could even get a massage at the Panadol tent.

I look forward to the new development plans for the years to come including a roof over Margaret Court Arena, making the Australian Open the only place to have three undercover courts.

Tennis Australia has me intrigued with how they continue to get bigger and better and I welcome the 2012 Open.

Thank you Melbourne for again delivering a fantastic event!

Leave a Reply

